Players of the Year receive their trophies

The trophies for the Shelbourne Player of the Year 2018 (voted by the supporters) and the Players’ Player of the Year (voted by the squad members) were awarded at a function for the Players, Management and Back-Room Staff at Tolka Park last night.

James English was the clear winner of the SSDG Supporters’ Player of the Year – his name now being inscribed on the trophy – added to those of Dean Delany, Jack Brady, Dyland McGlade, Dylan Connolly, Darren Kelly, Kevin Dawson, David Cassidy (twice), Dave McAllister, Mark Rutherford, Alan Murphy and Ollie Cahill, who have all been recipients since the award was introduced for the 2006 Season. We would like to thank everyone who voted.

Derek Prendergast received the Ollie Byrne Memorial Trophy for the Players’ Player of the Year for the second successive year. Previous winners of this trophy include Jamie Doyle, Evan Osam, Lee Desmond, Dean Kelly, Kevin Dawson, Philip Hughes and Dave McAllister.

The picture shows James and Derek receiving their trophies from Paul Byrne, Chairman of the Shelbourne Supporters Development Group (SSDG)

Share article