Under 19s Prepare for 2016 Season

Shelbourne Football Club are delighted to be able to announce that Martin Murray will, once again, manage our Under 19 team.

Martin has confirmed that Ger Ralph, Anthony Kennedy, Paul Kirwan and Mark Frazer will again assist him – with a goalkeeping coach to be announced shortly.

The new season will start on the weekend of March 13th and will run until the end of October. The new format for the league is that there will be two regional divisions, with Shelbouirne being in the Northern Section, with the other teams in the section being: Athlone Town, Bohemians, Derry City, Drogheda United, Dundalk, Finn Harps, Longford Town, Sligo Rovers and St. Patrick’s Athletic.

Murray is in a great position, in that his whole squad is eligible to play again this season, with twelve available for two seasons, but the axe has been weilded, with three players being released.

We are delighted to confirm re-signings, to date, of Matt Lyons, James Brown, Craig O’Connor, Fintan Devlin, Cian Fogarty, Glenn Carragher, Ronan O’Flynn, Gavin Balfe, Aaron Ralph, Ross Coyle, Stephen Meaney, Dayle Rooney and – after a season long injury – George Mukete. The following U17 players will be dually used by both the U17 & U19 squads – Ryan O’Neill, Mikey Murphy and Jonathan Ahene.

Three new players will be announced in the next week or so, once the paperwork has been finalised.

Pre-season training is pencilled in to start on Saturday, January 16th – weather and venue permitting.

Share article