Nominated Shelbourne Legends Meet at Tolka

Present at the reception for Shelbourne Legends, who had been nominated – and sponsored – to have their names attached the seats in the Directors’ Box at Tolka Park were

(bottom row, from l-r): Jack Pidgeon, Christopher Doyle, Anne Flood, Joe Casey, Niall Fitzmaurice, Joe Corcoran and Theresa Murray.

(second row): Shay Weafer, Jack Hennessy, Christy Doyle, Ben Hannigan, Finbarr Flood, Padraig Dully, Johnny Watson, Arthur Fitzsimons, Arthur o’Connor.

(third row): Tosh Moher, Freddie Strahan, Gary Howlett, Stephen Geoghegan, Mick Neville, tont Sheridan, Mark Rutherford, John Delamere, Colm Murphy.

(back row): Paul Byrne, John Frazer, Frank Young.

The full list of Legends to be honoured today is:

Eric Barber Tony Donnelly Finbarr Flood Mick Neville
Ollie Byrne Christy Doyle Stephen Geoghegan Brendan Place
Stuart Byrne Gerry Doyle Ben Hannigan Tom Priestley
John Clarke Padraig Dully Jackie Hennessy Paddy Roberts
Ollie Conroy Tony Dunne Gary Howlett Mark Rutherford
Dermot Curtis Rory Dwyer Gerry Malone Tony Sheridan
John Delamere Pat Fenlon Tosh Moher Freddie Strahan
Liam Devine Arthur Fitzsimons Johnny Murray Johnny Watson

Opportunities still exist to Sponsor YourShels Legend

Why not have the name of YOUR chosen Shels Legend, be they a former player, a former manager or indeed a club supporter or volunteer, placed on a seat in the Directors Box for ever and a day.

It only costs €200 to nominate YOUR LEGEND and it is a great way of remembering someone who you feel has made a truly lasting and remarkable contribution to Shelbourne FC.

We have already had a great response to this fund raising initiative (see listing above) and we would love to have as many Shels Legends commemorated through this scheme as possible.

To nominate YOUR LEGEND please contact Shay Weafer on 087 2565475 or send us an e mail to

Share article