New U19 League Format

A New format for the Under 19 SSE Airtricity League has been announced, with the League being reduced to Two divisions for the 2014 / 15 season.

Since its inception in 2011, the Under 19 league has been split into three divisions, with the Elite Division standing above the Northern and Southern Division’s.

Shelbourne FC have enjoyed great success in the last three seasons finishing in the top half year one, runners-up in the league and in the Cup final in 2012/13 and finished Third last season.More important was thedevelopment ofmany players that are now playing in the first team, with Nine of last Fridays squad vs Waterford Utd coming from the 19’s.

The League will be now split into two divisions of 11 teams, the Southern Elite and Northern Elite. Martin Murray’s side will be in the latter, alongside Bohemian’s , Derry City, Drogheda United, Dundalk, Fanad United, Finn Harps, Letterkenny Rovers, Longford Town, Sligo Rovers, and St Patrick’s Athletic – as you can see plenty of travelling.

The Southern Elite will be made up of; Athlone Town, Bray Wanderers, Cobh Rambler’s, Cork City, Limerick F.C, Mervue United, Salthill Devons, Shamrock Rovers, UCD, Waterford United and Wexford Youths.

The Season kicks off on the weekend of 30th August, with the fixtures out later this week. It will be a 20 game season, with a home and away fixture, with a Winner in each section.

The top four in each section will then go in to a Champions league Quarter finals with winner of Southern playing fourth in Northern and vice versa. ( North Winners vs Southern 4th, 2nd North vs 3 South, 1 South vs 4th North and 2 South vs 3 North with top two teams having Home advantage. There will be open draws for the Semi Final and Final.

Share article