Final Four Signings Ahead of 2018 Season Announced

Shelbourne football club's logo along with names Lorcan Fitzgerald, James Woods, Cian Kavanagh and Shane Farrell written in the corner.
Posted on

Lorcan Fitzgerald, James Woods, Cian Kavanagh and Shane Farrell have been announced as the final four signings to manager Owen Heary’s squad, ahead of the 2018 Season.

Lorcan Fitzgerald joins the Reds for the third time, having joined West Ham from Shels in 2006, again joining us from Sporting Fingal in March 2011 and was part of the team that won promotion, though he missed out on the Cup final against Sligo Rovers through injury. At the end of the 2012 season he joined St. Patrick’s Athletic. Lorcan spent the past three seasons at Bohemians.

James Woods was with Athlone Town’s Under 19s in 2016, also making some Senior Team appearances. At the start of the 2017 season, he joined Dundalk’s Under 19s. He played against Shelbourne in the Leinster Senior Cup Final 2017. James’s father Ian Woods played for Shelbourne in the 1988/89 season, making 23 league appearances.

Cian Kavanagh returns to Tolka Park having been on loan to the Reds from Shamrock Rovers for the 2016 season, during which he made 21 League appearances. He had joined Rovers from St. Kevins. Cian joined ex-Shels manager Collie O’Neill at UCD for the 2017 season.

Shane Farrell joins from Finglas United. He scored a last minute goal to win the Dalton U19 Cup Final for his club against Knockmitten last season – “Farrell took matters into his own hands and set off for goal with just seconds remaining. After beating two players he was felled in the box, he dusted himself off and scored the crucial cup winning peno ”

The full squad is Dean Delany, Lee Steacy, Aidan Collins, Reece McAteer, James Brown, James Woods, Derek Prendergast, Alan Byrne, Arran Molloy, David O’Sullivan, Lorcan Fitzgerald, Gavin Boyne, Dylan Grimes, James O’Brien, Mark Hughes, Cian Kavanagh, James English, Dayle Rooney, Jamie Doyle, Adam Evans, Shane Farrell, David O’Sullivan.